10:23 am
20 Jun 2024

England, Australia & Malaysia Expected To Share Commonwealth Games Squash Gold

22 Sep 2010

England, Australia and Malaysia are expected to share the Squash gold medals in next month's Commonwealth Games in Delhi, according to the draws announced today by the World Squash Federation.

Malaysian Nicol David, who celebrated her 50th successive month as world number one this month, is the firm favourite to win the women's singles gold medal for the first time - while Englishman Nick Matthew, the world No2, is top seed in the men's individual event.

But the seeding suggests that the remaining singles medals will go to England - with James Willstrop, the world No6 who was runner-up in this week's British Grand Prix in Manchester, winning silver and Peter Barker bronze.

World number two Jenny Duncalf is seeded to be runner-up in the women's individual event, while her England team-mate Alison Waters is the bronze prediction.

Yorkshireman Nick Matthew teams up with Londoner Adrian Grant for the Men's Doubles, in which a gold medal is predicted for the English pair.

But Australia are expected to win gold in both the Women's and Mixed Doubles - with New South Wales's Kasey Brown lining up with Donna Urquhart as favourites in the women's event, and teaming up with Cameron Pilley, also from NSW, as top seeds in the mixed championship.

Hosts India are expected to win their first ever Commonwealth Games Squash medal in the Women's Doubles where Joshna Chinappa & Dipika Pallikal are seeded to secure silver - but they, and the other favourites, may be upset by the specialist doubles combinations from New Zealand and Scotland.

The Commonwealth Games Squash events will take place at the superb new eleven-court Siri Fort Squash Complex in Delhi - which features an all-glass centre court - from 4-13 October.

Men's Singles 1st round draw:
[1] Nick Matthew (ENG) bye
Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS) v Hartaj Bains (KEN)
[10] Aamir Atlas Khan (PAK) v Masud Rana (BAN)
Colin Ramasra (TRI) v Jules Snagg (SVG)
[7] Cameron Pilley (AUS) v Joe Chapman (IVB)
Siddharth Suchde (IND) v Michael Hopkins (JEY)
[14] Ryan Cuskelly (AUS) v Sandeep Jangra (IND)
Bradley Hindle (MLT) v Navin Samarasinghe (SRI)
[3] Peter Barker (ENG) v Kelvin Ndhlovu (ZAM)
Alan Clyne (SCO) v Nicholas Kyme (BER)
[11] Saurav Ghosal (IND) v Ian Rukunya (UGA)
Patrick Chifunda (ZAM) v Lyall Paterson (SCO)
[8] Stewart Boswell (AUS) v Chris Small (SCO)
Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND) v Shopon Pervez (BAN)
[13] Farhan Mehboob (PAK) v Samuel Kyagulanyi (UGA)
Yasir Butt (PAK) v Christopher Binnie (JAM)
Lefika Ragontse (BOT) v Harry Leitch (SCO)
[16] Campbell Grayson (NZL) v Ray Simbule (ZAM)
Robin Clarke (CAN) v Othniel Bailey (SVG)
[6] Mohd Azlan Iskandar (MAS) v James Bentick (SVG)
Chris Simpson (GGY) v Aubrey Taulo (MAW)
[15] Martin Knight (NZL) v Hardeep Reel (KEN)
Danish Atlas Khan (PAK) v Bruce Burrowes (JAM)
[4] Daryl Selby (ENG) v Michael Rucklinger (PNG)
Lekgotla Mosope (BOT) v Shawn Simpson (BAR)
[9] Ong Beng Hee (MAS) v Lazarus Chiluba Chilufya (ZAM)
Andrew McDougall (CAN) v Orumu Ofoyuru (UGA)
[5] David Palmer (AUS) v Julius Taulo (MAW)
Shawn Delierre (CAN) v Henry Birch (GGY)
[12] Shahier Razik (CAN) v Kawooya Nsaale (UGA)
Ivan Yuen (MAS) v James Matewere (MAW)
[2] James Willstrop (ENG) bye

Women's Singles 2nd round draw:
[1] Nicol David (MAS) v Karen Meakins (BAR)
[15] Joshna Chinappa (IND) v Sharon Wee (MAS)
[5] Laura Massaro (ENG) v Lisa Aitken (SCO)
[16] Alana Miller (CAN) v Anwesha Reddy (IND)
[4] Madeline Perry (NIR) v Sharya Guruge (SRI) or Safina Madhani (KEN)
[13] Lisa Camilleri (AUS) v Frania Gillen-Buchert (SCO) or Ashley Khalil (GUY)
[6] Kasey Brown (AUS) v Miranda Ranieri (CAN) or Kate Cadigan (JEY)
[11] Delia Arnold (MAS) v Kerrie Sample (TRI) or Issey Norman-Ross (GGY)
[12] Joelle King (NZL) v Jeannine Cowie (JEY) or Barbara Stubbings (PNG)
[8] Donna Urquhart (AUS) v Nicolette Fernandes (GUY) or Khaaliqa Nimji (KEN)
[14] Dipika Pallikal (IND) v Natalie Dodd (GGY) or Stephanie Edmison (CAN)
[3] Alison Waters (ENG) v Samantha Cornett (CAN)
[9] Low Wee Wern (MAS) v Zoe Barr (NIR)
[7] Jaclyn Hawkes (NZL) v Amelia Pittock (AUS)
[10] Sarah Kippax (ENG) v Anaka Alankamony (IND)
[2] Jenny Duncalf (ENG) v Zephanie Curgenven (GGY)

Men's Doubles schedule (seedings prefix pairings):
Pool 1: [1] Adrian Grant & Nick Matthew (ENG); [16] Patrick Chifunda & Lazarus Chiluba Chilufya (ZAM); Malton Blair & Alexander Fraser (CAY)
Pool 2: [2] Stewart Boswell & David Palmer (AUS); [15] Lekgotla Mosope & Lefika Ragontse (BOT); Kelvin Ndhlovu & Ray Simbule (ZAM); Gye Duncan & Duncan Gray (NFK)
Pool 3: [3] Peter Barker & Daryl Selby (ENG); [14] Michael Fiteni & Bradley Hindle (MLT); Peter Christian-Bailey & Mal Rundell (NFK)
Pool 4: [4] Ryan Cuskelly & Cameron Pilley (AUS); [13] Robin Clarke & Shawn Delierre (CAN); James Bentick & Jules Snagg (SVG)
Pool 5: [5] Alan Clyne & Harry Leitch (SCO); [12] Yasir Butt & Danish Atlas Khan (PAK); James Matewere & Julius Taulo (MAW)
Pool 6: [6] Mohd Azlan Iskandar & Mohd Nafiizwan Adnan (MAS); [11] Sandeep Jangra & Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND); Kawooya Nsaale & Orumu Ofoyuru (UGA); Shopon Pervez & Masud Rana (BAN)
Pool 7: [7] Campbell Grayson & Martin Knight (NZL); [10] Aamir Atlas Khan & Farhan Mehboob (PAK); Samuel Kyagulanyi & Ian Rukunya (UGA)
Pool 8: [8] Gaurav Nandrajog & Siddharth Suchde (IND); [9] Lyall Paterson & Chris Small (SCO); Hartaj Bains & Hardeep Reel (KEN)

Women's Doubles schedule (seedings prefix pairings):
Pool 1: [1] Kasey Brown & Donna Urquhart (AUS); [8] Tamsyn Leevey & Kylie Lindsay (NZL); Samantha Cornett & Miranda Ranieri (CAN); Kate Cadigan & Jeannine Cowie (JEY)
Pool 2: [2] Joshna Chinappa & Dipika Pallikal (IND); [7] Lisa Aitken & Frania Gillen-Buchert (SCO); Delia Arnold & Low Wee Wern (MAS); Zephanie Curgenven & Issey Norman-Ross (GGY)
Pool 3: [3] Lisa Camilleri & Amelia Pittock (AUS); [6] Tania Bailey & Laura Massaro (ENG); Zoe Barr & Madeline Perry (NIR); Nicolette Fernandes & Ashley Khalil (GUY)
Pool 4: [4] Jenny Duncalf & Alison Waters (ENG); [5] Jaclyn Hawkes & Joelle King (NZL); Anaka Alankamony & Surbhi Misra (IND); Safina Madhani & Khaaliqa Nimji (KEN)

Mixed Doubles schedule (seedings prefix pairings):
Pool 1: [1] Kasey Brown & Cameron Pilley (AUS); [12] Sharon Wee & Ivan Yuen (MAS); Samantha Cornett & Robin Clarke (CAN); Kerrie Sample & Colin Ramasra (TRI)
Pool 2: [2] Jenny Duncalf & James Willstrop (ENG); [11] Joelle King & Martin Knight (NZL); Jeannine Cowie & Michael Hopkins (JEY); Safina Madhani & Hartaj Bains (KEN)
Pool 3: [3] Nicol David & Ong Beng Hee (MAS); [10] Harry Leitch & Lisa Aitken (SCO); Stephanie Edmison & Andrew McDougall (CAN); Khaaliqa Nimji & Hardeep Reel (KEN)
Pool 4: [4] Dipika Pallikal & Saurav Ghosal (IND); [9] Frania Gillen-Buchert & Alan Clyne (SCO); Marlene West & Cameron Stafford (CAY); Barbara Stubbings & Michael Rucklinger (PNG)
Pool 5: [5] Jaclyn Hawkes & Campbell Grayson (NZL); [8] Donna Urquhart & David Palmer (AUS); Karen Meakins & Shawn Simpson (BAR)
Pool 6: [6] Alison Waters & Adrian Grant (ENG); [7] Joshna Chinappa & Harinder Pal Sandhu (IND); Sharya Guruge & Navin Samarasinghe (SRI); Zephanie Curgenven & Henry Birch (GGY)