6:41 am
17 Jun 2024

Ten Out Of Ten For Top Man Thierry

1 Sep 2005

Frenchman Thierry Lincou celebrates his tenth successive month as world number one in the new September Dunlop PSA Men's World Squash Rankings, published today by the Professional Squash Association.

Winner of five PSA Tour titles last year - finishing with the coveted World Open crown in Qatar in December - Lincou reclaimed the top spot in January, since when he claimed his 14th career PSA title success at the Pakistan Open in July.

In an unchanged top nine, England's Lee Beachill stays at two; Australia's David Palmer at three, and Jonathon Power of Canada at four.

Despite winning last month's Mamut English Open in Sheffield in convincing style, England's Peter Nicol remains at five - but extends the gap ahead of six-placed Australian Anthony Ricketts.

Scotland's John White returns to the top ten, at ten, after exceeding his seeding at the Crucible Theatre in Sheffield where he reached the English Open semi-finals.

Up five places to 14 is Englishman Adrian Grant, who secured his first PSA Tour title of the year by winning the CAS International in Pakistan last month.

Malaysia's Mohd Azlan Iskandar also registered his first PSA success of the year in August when he picked up the Steel Industries PNG International title in Papua New Guinea. The 23-year-old from Sarawak is rewarded with a career-high No15 ranking in the new list.

Two South American titles within a week have lifted England's Peter Barker to a best-ever world No23 ranking. The Essex-based left-hander won the Aberto Internacional de Sao Paulo in Brazil in July, then the Colombian Open in Bogotá.

Compatriot Joey Barrington, runner-up in Sao Paulo, also moves to a career-best 30 ranking, while Australian Cameron Pilley, from New South Wales, makes his top thirty debut at 29 after lifting the South Australian Open trophy in July.

1 [1] Thierry Lincou FRA
2 [2] Lee Beachill ENG
3 [3] David Palmer AUS
4 [4] Jonathon Power CAN
5 [5] Peter Nicol ENG
6 [6] Anthony Ricketts AUS
7 [7] Amr Shabana EGY
8 [8] James Willstrop ENG
9 [9] Nick Matthew ENG
10 [11] John White SCO
11 [10] Gregory Gaultier FRA
12 [12] Karim Darwish EGY
13 [13] Graham Ryding CAN
14 [19] Adrian Grant ENG
15 [16] Mohd Azlan Iskandar MAS
16 [15] Joseph Kneipp AUS
17 [17] Olli Tuominen FIN
18 [14] Shahid Zaman PAK
19 [18] Ong Beng Hee MAS
20 [22] Mohammed Abbas EGY