10:05 am
27 Feb 2024

Amr Shabana Celebrates Breakthrough 25th Month As World Number One

2 Apr 2008

Egypt's world champion Amr Shabana moves into his 25th successive month at the top of the Dunlop PSA Men's World Rankings - according to the April list published today by the Professional Squash Association - thereby claiming the longest unbroken run as world number one since legendary Pakistani Jansher Khan more than ten years ago.

The 28-year-old from Cairo first topped the rankings in April 2006, since when he has won nine PSA Tour titles. In December in Bermuda, Shabana won his third World Open crown - and his fourth successive PSA Super Series title in just two months!

After record eight times world champion Jansher Khan completed a 53-month world number one run in January 1998, his English successor Peter Nicol established a 24-month unbroken run which ended in December 2003.

The unchanged April top ten sees Shabana's compatriot Ramy Ashour at two; Frenchman Gregory Gaultier in third place, and Englishman James Willstrop at No4.

Just outside the top ten, Malaysia's Ong Beng Hee leaps five places to No12 - his highest ranking since December 2003. Beng Hee, the 28-year-old from Penang who is based in the UK, celebrated a two-year Tour title drought last month when he won the CIMB KL Open on home soil.

Fellow Malaysian Mohd Azlan Iskandar also celebrates a notable rise - five positions to No13. The 25-year-old from Kuala Lumpur beat Ong Beng Hee in the final of the Asian Championship in February, then finished as runner-up to his national rival in the KL Open.

After celebrating his top 20 debut last month, Australia's Cameron Pilley makes further progress in the April list by moving to a career-high 18. The UK-based 25-year-old from New South Wales achieved his best ever run in a 5-star event last month - reaching the final of the ISS Canary Wharf Classic in London as the seventh seed.

1 [1] Amr Shabana EGY
2 [2] Ramy Ashour EGY
3 [3] Gregory Gaultier FRA
4 [4] James Willstrop ENG
5 [5] David Palmer AUS
6 [6] Nick Matthew ENG
7 [7] Thierry Lincou FRA
8 [8] Karim Darwish EGY
9 [9] Wael El Hindi EGY
10 [10] Peter Barker ENG
11 [11] Lee Beachill ENG
12 [17] Ong Beng Hee MAS
13 [18] Mohd Azlan Iskandar MAS
14 [15] Adrian Grant ENG
15 [12] John White SCO
16 [14] Stewart Boswell AUS
17 [16] Olli Tuominen FIN
18 [20] Cameron Pilley AUS
19 [19] Laurens Jan Anjema NED
20 [13] Mohammed Abbas EGY